Pay attention! Your browser is outdated, this can have a negative effect on the user experience. Download Google Chrome.


Rymax ambassador Fredric Aasbø wins Formula Drift Pro Championship for the second time

On Saturday the 23rd of October 2021, Norwegian pro drifter and Rymax brand ambassador Fredric Aasbø secured his second Formula Drift Championship title. At the packed oval at Irwindale, California, Aasbø steered his black and gold Toyota Supra all the way to the final, gaining enough points to be crowned the best in the world again.

Fredric Aasbø was Formula Drift champion before in 2015 and runnerup in 2016, ’17 and ’18. But that’s just part of his palmares: 2010 Rookie of the Year, 2012 Best Drifting Style and British Drift Championship Winner, 2013 Driver of the Year and Hardest Charging Driver, Fan Favorite in 2013 and 2014, leader in the All-time Formula Drift Pro event winners list, 2014 Formula Drift Asia Champion and FIA Norway Driver of the year in 2015. “I have so much respect for everybody here; Chelsea DeNofa and Matt Field have been on my tail all year,” Aasbo said through tears of relief and joy. “This is by far a much, much harder-fought championship than the one we won in 2015.”

This year, Fredric Aasbø raced the new Toyota Supra GR 2021 for his States-based program, an exact copy of the Supra he uses in Europe, running all fluids of Rymax Lubricants. The car manages to get 1.000 bhp out of just four cylinders, putting everything to the test and demanding the most extreme performance from the engine-, gearbox-, and drivetrain oils.  “We have this amazing car, it’s half the displacement of the rest of the field,” Aasbo said, referring to the mostly V8-powered Fords and Chevies in the field of 33 Pro-drifters.

The final event at Irwindale was one of the most exciting ones in the 18-year Formula Drift history. Aurimas Bakchis beat Aasbo in the final in one of the closest-fought battles of the weekend, still delivering Aasbø enough points for the championship win because of his year-round strong performance. “I owe the Papadakis Racing team a huge thank you. Making this new car so competitive in just the second year of operation is unbelievable.” said Aasbø who was moved to tears after his final round. Behind Fredric Aasbø, Matt Field took hold of the second place in his Chevrolet Corvette C7, followed by Aurimas Bakchis in his Nissan 240SX S14, both from the United States.

Rymax Lubricants congratulates Fredric Aasbø and the Papadakis Racing Team on the impressive 2021 Championship win. Rymax and Aasbø already look back at a successful partnership since 2018. In these years the Rymax brand ambassador earned more than 120 podium finishes in Europe, Asia, and North America. 2021 Formula Drift World Champion Fredric Aasbø is truly the top drift competitor in the world today.